Equatorial Guinea - (Africa)

Information about Equatorial Guinea

28051 square kilometres
Large Roman Cathoic majority (90%), Protestant minorities
Christian (%)
Protestant (%)
Reformed (%)

The country is divided into two parts: on the one hand there are the islands, especially Bioko, with the capital Malabo; on the other hand is the much larger continental area, Rio Muni (20,000 km 2 ). The two parts also have different histories. Bioko (formerly Fernando Po) was first Portuguese but became Spanish in 1777. Malabo (formerly Santa Isabel) was an important port. Rio Muni was French territory until 1901, when it came under Spanish rule. Catholic missionaries had a strong impact on the country. In 1968 Equatorial Guinea became independent. Ever since, it has experienced brutal dictatorships — first under Macias Nguema (†1979), and later under his nephew Obiang Nguema.


Copyright © 2002 reformiert online
Stiftung Johannes a Lasco Bibliothek Grosse Kirche Emden
Kirchstrasse 22, 26721 Emden, Deutschland
Telefon: 04921 - 9150 - 0, Telefax: 04921 - 9150 - 50
Internet: http://www.reformiert-online.net
Email: fasse@reformiert-online.de