Namibia - (Africa)

Information about Namibia

824292 square kilometres
Christian 80% to 90% (Lutheran 50% at least), indigenous beliefs 10% to 20%
Christian (%)
Protestant (%)
Reformed (%)

In 1884 South-West Africa, as it was then called, became a German protectorate. In 1904 the Herero tribe rebelled against German domination; thousands were killed. After World War I the territory was placed, by decision of the League of Nations, under the control of South Africa, which in 1948 began to apply the apartheid system. As a consequence, the UN withdrew the mandate in 1966, and two years later renamed the country Namibia. When, finally, in 1990 free elections took place the South-West African People’s Organization (SWAPO) obtained the majority; its leader, S. Nujoma, became the first president.
The strong Christian presence is the result of various missionary efforts in the 19th and 20th centuries. The first mission to reach the country was the LMS (1805). The Lutheran Rhenish and Finnish missions followed in 1842 and 1870. The relatively small Reformed churches have their origin in South Africa and reflect the situation of the churches there. In 1978 a large number of churches, including the RCath Church, founded the Council of Churches in Namibia.


Copyright © 2002 reformiert online
Stiftung Johannes a Lasco Bibliothek Grosse Kirche Emden
Kirchstrasse 22, 26721 Emden, Deutschland
Telefon: 04921 - 9150 - 0, Telefax: 04921 - 9150 - 50